Grade II* Listed Mill, Powys
A former C18 fulling mill with 1840 corn mill extension, converted to domestic accommodation throughout in 1970 showing significant decay from the use of inappropriate materials during the conversion.
This project was a sympathetic repair to the two-and-a-half storey building combined with the installation of two large oak framed extensions. The feature oak framed garden room and porch extensions with finished joinery including doors, casement windows and fixed glazing panels were manufactured and installed by our carpentry team.
We removed two heavy buttresses supporting the north elevation and then carefully removed of a thick cementitious coating on the external masonry walls using traditional shoring techniques to prevent collapse.
Using our team of skilled craftspeople we reinstated defective masonry and stitched numerous cracks with locally quarried Silurian sandstone to match existing. We applied hot mix lime mortars with lime wash to protect the external walls and lime plaster throughout the internal building.
Traditional oak mullion windows and casements were manufactured in our joinery along with external and internal oak doors in a range of traditional styles. We assisted with designs and subsequent manufacture of a sycamore cupboard, Siberian larch cupboard, oak window shutters, oak and glass feature shelving, structural glass Juliet balcony and the stunning oak quarter landing staircase with bifolding built in cupboards.